Sports Daily One News

Dhoni elects to bowl on return as Chennai Super Kings captain

Countdown to Black Friday - A New Sale Everyday at


Agarkar: It feels like CSK have picked a team for Chennai conditions

Chennai Super Kings chose to bowl v Mumbai Indians
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

“Our emotions are under control,” MS Dhoni said of his team, after winning the toss on his return as Chennai Super Kings captain. Dhoni elected to bowl, as he had when these teams last faced each other – in the final of the 2015 edition. Both captains were looking to bowl first, but Rohit Sharma said he was happy batting first on an unusually grassy Wankhede pitch.

The defending champions didn’t spring any surprises with their team selection barring the inclusion of Punjab legspinner Mayank Markande, who will make his IPL debut. The story was different with Super Kings, who left out two specialist openers in M Vijay and Sam Billings, picked medium-pacer Deepak Chahar over Shardul Thakur, and set up a team that offered nine legitimate bowling options.

Countdown to Black Friday - A New Sale Everyday at

Mumbai Indians: 1 Evin Lewis, 2 Ishan Kishan (wk), 3 Rohit Sharma (capt), 4 Suryakumar Yadav, 5 Kieron Pollard, 6 Hardik Pandya, 7 Krunal Pandya, 8 Mitchell McClenaghan, 9 Mustafizur Rahman, 10 Jasprit Bumrah, 11 Mayank Markande

Chennai Super Kings: 1 Shane Watson, 2 Ambati Rayudu 3 Suresh Raina, 4 Kedar Jadhav, 5 MS Dhoni (capt & wk), 6 Dwayne Bravo, 7 Ravindra Jadeja, 8 Harbhajan Singh, 9 Imran Tahir, 10 Deepak Chahar, 11 Mark Wood

Varun Shetty is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

Cricket news from ESPN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *