Sports Daily One News

Ireland elect to bowl; India play Raina and Pandey

Countdown to Black Friday - A New Sale Everyday at

Toss Ireland chose to bowl v India
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Ireland captain Gary Wilson elected to bowl in sunny conditions in Malahide and said that his team’s focus would be on their own game rather than India’s strengths. Ireland came into the match with practice from four T20Is in the tri-series from earlier this month that involved Netherlands and Scotland, as well as a practice game against Sussex.

Virat Kohli said his team had time to practice in London, albeit in different weather conditions. However, he added that game time would’ve been a much bigger factor if this were a Test match. Kohli also said he’s much better than the “70%” fitness that he was at previously, following a neck injury last month.

Countdown to Black Friday - A New Sale Everyday at

India decided to go in with two spinners and made the radical decision to leave out Dinesh Karthik, the hero of India’s last T20I game in the Nidahas Trophy. Suresh Raina took his place in the team and is expected to bat at No. 4, with Manish Pandey expected to play at No. 6.

Ireland: 1 Paul Stirling, 2 Gary Wilson (capt), 3 James Shannon, 4 Andy Balbirnie, 5 Simi Singh, 6 Kevin O’Brien, 7 Stuart Thompson, 8 Stuart Poynter (wk), 9 George Dockrell, 10 Boyd Rankin, 11 Peter Chase

India: 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Virat Kohli (capt), 4 Suresh Raina, 5 MS Dhoni (wk), 6 Manish Pandey, 7 Hardik Pandya, 8 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 9 Kuldeep Yadav, 10 Yuzvendra Chahal, 11 Jasprit Bumrah

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

Cricket news from ESPN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *